Hurricane Bill, Spiders and Other CooCooys

You all have no idea how happy I am here. I have a very wonderful, kind, and dang-good looking husband who truly adores me. I have a daughter who is sweet, good and now a teenager. I live in a wonderful place right on the water and our rent is low. I get to bike ride while listening to my favorite music on an MP3 player. I have cable, A/C, Internet AND ice cream. What else could a girl want? I’ve had people smile because I seem so simply contented with those luxuries but I am grateful for all I have because I know what it is like to lose everything. I have been through enough to know that EVERYTHING in life is a luxury from eyesight, to being able to walk, to being able to eat, etc. You should be grateful for EVERY single thing in life because everything is a Godsend and really, there is no other way to live life than to be thankful for all you have. It is the only way to be truly happy.

Last year, I thought we had lost everything we owned in a very strong storm called Dolly, because I called my hometown from Austin, TX to ask and the police verified that yes, there was a blown-off roof at our address. I took my husband outside so I could break the news to him alone. My exact words were, “Look, I’m OK. You’re OK. The baby’s OK and we have our documents. We can start over. We started with nothing and can do it again,” and I meant it. I lived off Ramen, rice, beans and 10 lb. bags of chicken leg quarters in college and can sure as hell do it again. I could write a cookbook called “1000 Ways to Cook Chicken,” and can even modify ramen to a garlicy, saucy Italian style.

Because I can recover from tragedy doesn’t mean I want to do it again, though,  and losing the wonderful life I have discovered in the South Padre Island area does scare me. I have a horrible hurricane-phobia. I have had people tell me, “You are living in the wrong part of the world then. AHAHAHA” Well, no chit Cherlock but what is the point of having a falling rock phobia if there are no falling rocks here? It makes sense to beware of things that are a real threat and can actually hurt you like hurricanes, the swine flu, the Brown Recluse or Black Widow, people who steal or kill, and drugs and alcohol. I fear the devastation of hurricanes because of what it can do to my wonderful life here. I have finally found the man who is perfect for me and truly loves me. He is admirable, kind, adoring, funny, romantic and a great provider and protector. My daughter is still malleable, has not learned to be disrespectful or rude, and has not stepped into the web of drug and alcohol abuse that lingers in the world’s shadows. My daughter and new husband are getting along very well and there is harmony in the house. I have everything I could ever want or need in life right now. I am able to write, am able to work jobs in different areas and enjoy them, and my life is busy and more fulfilling than I could have ever imagined. I am more successful in life here and now than I have ever been.

 

I fear the devastation of a hurricane. An extremely active hurricane season was predicted for this year. Then the meteorologists with degrees who studied and should know what they’re doing changed their mind and said it was going to be weak because of El Nino. Like Rosanne Rosannadanna used to say, “Nevermind.” WTH? Well, now there are a few storms in the waters and I naturally get a bit uneasy. This is why…

 

Fishing Trip #4 035

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fishing Trip #4 036

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This next photo brings to mind, “A three-hour tour, a three-hour tour. The weather started getting rough. The tiny ship was tossed. If not for the courage of the fearless crew, the Minnow would be lost.”

 

Fishing Trip #4 033

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Docks and fences looked like toothpicks discarded after a filling meal.

 

Fishing Trip #4 038

 

 

 

 

 

 

Windows were shattered by the force of the winds and shards of glass were everywhere.

 

Fishing Trip #4 046

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There was a lot to clean up all over the area.

 

Fishing Trip #4 045

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fishing Trip #4 043

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fishing Trip #4 039

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wanna Wanna sign can be read backwards

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WW insides visible from street

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Like a lady with her pantaloons showing, the Wanna Wanna’s interior was exposed for all to see.

 

WW office interior from outside

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WW front office

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I went through my own personal tragedy and lost everything, I learned that there is good even in the worst situations. I recovered, regrouped and regenerated myself and am now more successful than I ever imagined. You may think it is the end of the world but even in devastation, there is good. How can a powerfully destructive storm be good you ask?

 

 

It is good for some people whose job it is to repair what has been destroyed. Like a HUGE Daddy Longlegs these trucks could be seen all down the streets.

 

Fishing Trip #4 050

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

Disaster recovery businesses set up shop at the convention center.

 

Fishing Trip #4 051

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Convoys of electric trucks traveled from up north to deal with what Dolly left in her wake.

 

Fishing Trip #4 052

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The men and women who came down here had to shop in our stores, stay in our rooms and eat at our restaurants so a few places were able to make a few bucks. Some clubs and bars made money because they needed to unwind somewhere on the weekend. God is good and there is good even in horrible devastation.

 

Now there is a storm that is predicted to become a strong hurricane. You can track Hurricane Bill here – http://www.stormpulse.com/hurricane-bill-2009

~ by islandprincess15 on August 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
