Happy Thanksgiving!

I was lucky enough to get invited to the Thanksgiving feast at the award-winning KOA-South Padre Island this year. You will not find nicer folks than these fine people. They put out quite an impressive spread. People were encouraged to bring a dish… boy, did they!

 

 

Whole families went and it was good to see them talking, sharing, and having a good time.

 

 

I grew up in the country so there were no neighbors or city blocks or civilization, really, so my brother and sister and I grew up playing board games and card games because computers were not even an option back then. My game collection included Scrabble, Monopoly, Risk, Sorry… all the classics.When I saw that the KOA had a Battleship game, I immediately jumped on the chance to show my daughter how to play the old-school way (without the electronic sound effects or on the computer). She quickly got the hang of it and beat me right away. (Once you find that two-shot PT boat, it’s mostly over.)

 

 

Other people got into the football game on tv.

 

 

Then it was time to eat:

 

 

The array of salads was fantastic!

 

 

Everybody ate to their heart’s content.

 

 

The dessert spread was tantalizing.

 

 

 

This is my pumpkin-spice cheesecake on the bottom center that is over half-gone. I have discovered how to make 13 x 9″ cheesecakes. I don’t do anything in a small way, especially when it comes to sweets.

 

 

This is another dessert we took to the party. Sweet potato pie. (Try having those around the house and not eating them.)

 

 

There were many different places on South Padre Island to eat on Thanksgiving but I feel I went to the best because of the genuine love I have for the folks over at the KOA. They are nothing but gold and they even had great news from their latest jaunt across the nation. They got a nice surprise when Tom and Stacie went to the National KOA Convention recently. Tom won the 2009 Manager of the Year Award again, a feat that is never done but he did it and to have someone who beat out the rest of the nation, right here on South Padre Island is a real honor. The campground as a whole won the 2009 Camper Satisfaction Award as well.

 

My thanks go out to the fine folks over at the South Padre KOA for throwing such a beautiful party. The decorations on the tables were nice and there was lots of room for everybody and more than enough food for every single person who showed up. What a fine, fine gathering that was.

~ by islandprincess15 on November 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
