What is Important?

 

I just had a dream where I was on a plane looking down at the clouds hovering over a city. The clouds looked like toasted, browned popcorn and I figured EVERY city puts out its fair share of pollution. Then the plane started dropping altitude. I looked down to the scenery and figured out that there was no way the majority of us, if anyone, were going to survive that crash. I thought immediately of my family; I was with my spouse and thought of my daughter on land. It would have to be acceptable to her. It would have to be – there was no way out of this. It was just something she was going to have to deal with for the rest of her life. Then the plane bottomed-out and leveled and headed for water. I was so relieved and thought, “Cool, we are going to make it!” Then the pilot said, “We have to ascend,” and we tried but the plane could not gain altitude but at least we were landing on water and had a CHANCE of survival instead of crashing into solid ground.

The next scene was a scene where survivors were being comforted. I had a mental connection with others since I had been in the crash but lived. I also had a connection with my mom, who had passed away. I was crying and a Mexican lady told me, “Why are you crying? What are you crying for?” (and she was right for I had been given a second chance at life and should be rejoicing.)

I woke up with a sense of unloading. I have to unload all the crap that is weighing me down and inhibiting my enjoyment of a full life. I feel bogged down at the moment by all my crap, all my possessions. They really serve no purpose in life. All you need is what you need and the rest is just baggage weighing you down. I am resolved now to get rid off all that is weighing me down.

I am going to have a garage sale and aim for getting some money for my stuff then donating it all to charity. This reminds me of George Carlin’s bit about “stuff” – how we all need more stuff then we need a bigger place to keep all of our stuff. Stuff that is just weighing us down has no place in our lives. The hard part is letting go. Wish me luck on letting it go.

~ by islandprincess15 on January 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
